Rangers rule POTY shortlist | Young Player nominees announced

Rangers rule POTY shortlist | Young Player nominees announced thumbnail

Rangers’ Steven Davis, Ryan Kent, Allan McGregor and James Tavernier have all been nominated for Scottish Premiership Player of the Year for 2020/21.

Steven Gerrard’s side have already been crowned champions and will record an unbeaten league season if they can avoid defeat in their final two games against Livingston and Aberdeen, with the latter match live on Sky Sports Football.

The all-Rangers PFA Scotland shortlist means the Player of the Year award will be coming back to Ibrox for the first time since 2009/10 when it was won by Northern Irishman Davis.

GLASGOW, SCOTLAND - FEBRUARY 21: Rangers manager Steven Gerrard during a Scottish Premiership match between Rangers and Dundee United at Ibrox on February 21, 2021, in Glasgow, Scotland (Photo by Rob Casey / SNS Group)

2: 29

Steven Gerrard reflects on life at Ibrox three years after becoming Rangers manager, reveals the advice Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp gave him and looks ahead to the future

The past six winners have all been Celtic players – Kris Commons, Stefan Johansen, Leigh Griffiths, Scott Sinclair, Scott Brown, James Forrest – and the last player outside the Old Firm to win was Motherwell’s Michael Higdon in 2012/2013.

PFA Scotland did not pick a winner in 2019/20 with the awards – presented since 1977/78 and chosen by a vote among the members of the PFA – cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, which curtailed the top-flight season early.

Ryan Kent celebrates Rangers evolution

0: 59

Stuart McCall believes Rangers cannot afford to lose Ryan Kent this summer

Davis, 36, is named on the 2020/21 shortlist after an impressive showing in midfield over the course of the season while Kent, 24, has registered eight goals and nine assists across 33 Scottish Premiership matches.

Goalkeeper McGregor, 39, has also impressed this term with Rangers conceding just 13 goals in the league this season so far, while right-back Tavernier, 29, has 11 goals and 10 assists across 29 games.

PA - Allan McGregor

1: 58

Former Rangers goalkeeping coach Jim Stewart says Allan McGregor has been key in helping the Ibrox side win the Scottish Premiership title

Three of those four – Davis, McGregor and Tavernier – also find themselves nominated for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association (SWFA) Player of the Year for 2020/21, along with another Rangers player, defender Connor Goldson.

The past four winners of the PFA Scotland’s Premiership Player of the Year have also gone on to win the SFWA Player of the Year – Griffiths, Sinclair, Brown and Forrest.

This season’s PFA Scotland Premiership Player of the Year will be named on Sunday, May 16.

Hibernian’s Doig in contention for second award

Hibernian’s Josh Doig has the chance to make it an awards double for the season after being named on the shortlist for the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Doig has already won the Scottish Football Writers’ Association award and could become the third left-back to win the award in recent years, following in the footsteps of Kieran Tierney and Andy Robertson.

Josh Doig

Celtic, Chelsea and Arsenal have all been tracking 18-year-old Doig

Ali McCann (St Johnstone), Nathan Patterson (Rangers) and David Turnbull (Celtic) are also in contention to win the players’ union prize.

Turnbull has enjoyed an impressive debut season with Celtic while McCann has also caught the eye in his first full campaign at St Johnstone.

Celtic's David Turnbull celebrates after scoring to make it 1-0 against Aberdeen

David Turnbull has enjoyed an impressive debut season with Celtic

Meanwhile, Patterson has burst onto the scene at Rangers as the club ended their 10-year wait for the Premiership title and will be hoping to keep the award at Ibrox after teammate Ryan Kent was the last to claim the accolade.

The Young Player of the Year will also be named on Sunday, May 16.

Scottish Premiership Team of the Year: Who makes your XI?

38: 39

Kris Boyd and Andy Walker have named their Scottish Premiership XI for the 2020/21 season – but do you agree?

As another Scottish Premiership season draws to a close, it is time to decide who has caught your eye during a campaign full of drama using our Team of the Year selector.

Rangers have impressed en route to winning their 55th top-flight league title, and with the prospect of Steven Gerrard’s side finishing unbeaten in the Premiership and clocking up 100 points in the league for the first time – will your team be dominated with players from Ibrox?

preview image

2: 59

Highlights of the most recent Old Firm match between Rangers and Celtic

Despite Celtic facing a first trophyless season since 2010, could the likes of Kristoffer Ajer, Mohamed Elyounoussi and David Turnbull – whose performances have seen him tipped to break into Scotland’s Euro 2020 squad – find a spot in your XI?

There are plenty of other contenders too with Kevin Nisbet and Martin Boyle firing Hibernian to the verge of a third-placed finish for the first time in 16 years.

Benjamin Siegrist and Lawrence Shankland have helped Dundee United retain their spot in the top flight after promotion, while Alan Campbell, Lewis Ferguson, Jamie McGrath, Hakeem Odoffin, Scott Robinson, Chris Burke, Alex Iacovitti and Jason Kerr have all impressed too.

Read More

Learn More: sports clips near me,isportsman,sports card shops near me,sportsrecruits,sports management,sports cuts,sports research,sports business journal,sports tape,sports radio 610,sports research collagen peptides,sports physical therapy,sports in spanish,sports zone,sports emporium,sports ltd,sports jobs near me,sports wallpapers,sports journalism,sports headbands,isportsman eglin,sports den,sports video group,sports doctor near me,m sports package,sports village,sports kilt,sports kids,sports x radio,a sportsman’s sketches,sports 56,sports 790,sports 1 marketing,sports 610,x sports radio,sports yard signs,sports 2000,sports 11,sports vet,sports zone topeka,sports zone aurora

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *